Flag of Nigeria

Flag of Nigeria
Coat of Arms of Nigeria
Coat of Arms of Nigeria
President of Nigeria
His Excellency, Muhammadu Buhari, GCFR
President and Commander-in-Chief of the Armed Forces
Federal Republic of Nigeria

The Federal Republic of Nigeria is a federal republic in West Africa, bordering the countries of Niger in the north, Chad in the northeast, Cameroon in the east, Benin in the west, and by the Atlantic Ocean in the south. Nigeria is comprised of thirty six (36) states and the Federal Capital Territory, in which the capital city, Abuja, is located.

With over 186 million inhabitants, Nigeria is the seventh most populous country in the world, and the most populous country on the continent of Africa, and as such is often referred to as the "Giant of Africa", with over two hundred and fifty (250) different groups, speaking nearly four hundred (400) languages and dialects.

Nigeria is located in western Africa on the Gulf of Guinea and has a total area of 923,768 km2 (356,669 sq mi). The main rivers are the Niger and the Benue, which converge and empty into the Niger Delta.

Nigeria is a federal republic with executive power exercised by the President, who serves as both Head of State and Head of the Federal Government. Legislative power is invested in the Senate and House of Representatives, which together form the bicameral National Assembly. The Senate has 109 members, with three members from each state and one from the capital region of Abuja. The House has 360 seats, with the number of seats per state determined by population. Members of both Houses of the National Assembly are elected by popular vote to four-year terms.

The current President and Commander-in-Chief of the Armed Forces of the Federal Republic of Nigeria is Muhammadu Buhari GCFR.

Nigeria is a founding member of the African Union (AU) and is a member of many other international organizations, including the United Nations (UN), the Commonwealth of Nations, the Economic Community of West African States (ECOWAS) and the Organization of Petroleum Exporting Countries (OPEC).

The official language of education and administration is English.


Money & Currency Exchange

The unit of currency is the Naira (₦), which is made up of 100 Kobo.

All major credit cards are accepted in most places in Abuja, such as Visa, MasterCard, American Express and Diners Club and Bureau de Change operators are available at the airport and throughout the country.

Exchange rates as of 15th January 2019 are approximately:

  • 1 USD : ₦360
  • 1 GBP : ₦466

Please visit http://www.xe.com/ for online exchange rates.

Banking hours are from Monday to Friday: 08:00AM – 16.00PM